Meditation&Song

On Wednesday, during our weekly Meditation session at University, Karasu introduced us to the Tibetan Wheel of Life. For those who don’t know about it, it’s a wheel of human consciousness (or at least that’s our interpretation of it) and Yama is wrathful impermanence; spinning the wheel to keep us on it.

My very first thought: “Aww cute dragon!!!”

Guess I’m not a natural, eh? =P

I’m not going to explain each of the realms and sections, because we only had a fifteen minute discussion on it ourselves; and I’d never even heard of it, but I’ve included some links at the end of this post in case you’re interested.

Thursday night we attended a second session of the singing workshop in preparation for a small Christmas showcase next Wednesday. We’re planning to sing ‘Bambalela (Never Give Up)’ and ‘Freedom is Coming (Yes, I Know)’ in front of people. Other than signing in the street/while I’m sitting on the green, I’ve not sung in from of a specific audience since I was six.

Tonight was much more freeing. I felt that though I’m still not brilliant at some of the notes, they were slightly easier to reach this week; so I guess that’s a good sign. I’m hoping to get some pictures/video footage next week to share it with you.

If you want to hear the woman who runs the workshops (Susie):

http://www.myspace.com/susieroandayla

[my favourite song is As The Ivy Grows Tall]

Sources on the Tibetan Wheel of Life:

http://www.religionfacts.com/buddhism/symbols/wheel_of_life.htm

http://www.exoticindiaart.com/article/wheeloflife/

Have a blessed week,

~Rose

Leave a Reply

