Seven & Presents

I completely forgot about the Saturday Seven yesterday; here’s my list; albeit a day late:

~ I’m so grateful for the roof over my head

~ I’m so grateful that I have food and drink available

~ I’m so grateful for this book The Mindful Woman, as it’s making me think

~ I’m so grateful for the chance to learn

~ I’m so grateful that I’ve friends to support me through anything

~ I’m so grateful that the bathroom is now free!

~ I’m so grateful that I’m still on track for completing my NaNoWriMo novel

Friday night I started to make my mother’s Christmas/Yule gift. I can say that here, because she doesn’t have a link to this blog. If she does read this then “Hiiii!!”. Not sure how she’d feel knowing I refer to my boyfriend as my “husband” on here. Ah well.  Anyway. If you’re my mum, please stop reading, else your present won’t be a surprise =P

I was reading an article and one phrase struck me.

“After all – you can’t just visit a sick child and tell them you love them.

You have to buy a piece of plastic to express your love and concern these days.”

This week I sent off a package to one of my oldest and closest friends, who used to live here, but now lives in the USA. I made him a bookmark, drew him a rose, wrote letters and some little mantra notes to put around his room/monitor/fridge etc to make him smile. It cost me £1.35 to send and he received it Friday morning (sent Monday, cheapest airmail).  And it’s most likely the most meaningful and loving gift I’ve ever given anyone. The time it took to make and put together, to actually stand in a post office line and pay some money for a little stamp; and –le gasp!- paying money for something without getting a little plastic toy.  –sharp intake of breath-

Upon reading that phrase, I was reminded of the bookmark and have now made my own mother one. Each holiday, when I return from University, she tries to take me shopping. I understand it’s to show she loves me, but I might suggest we go for a drink in a bookshop or something instead [like people do in movies and books I’ve read.. There are coffee shops in England, aren’t there?].   And having just written that spur of the moment thought, I suddenly feel much happier at the idea of time with my mum.. and oddly lighter..

Anyway, I was looking for a phrase to fit on this bookmark that would be the to point “be happy!” but not just random words.. Something meaningful and honest, but encouraging.

Mindfulness, Choose Kindness, Intention, Simplicity.. All of these speak to me; but she’s doesn’t meditate and didn’t read parenting blogs as a teen. She’s also one of the kindest people I know, so that phrase was redundant. In the end, I’ve written:

S
M
I
L
E

Now.. I can’t draw much (roses, stick people and fish, mainly) and my attempts to learn to knit and sew again failed drastically. I only have limited sources here at University, and limited time with all my assignments. However, I’m hoping to make as many presents personal and I thought my mum was the best person to start with.

So, I’d LOVE any ideas on simple, handmade or personalisable [yes I just made that word up] presents. I’m happy to spend money on her, because she’s worth it (bet she’s gutted if she doesn’t read this…) but I’m looking to convey a message that love isn’t about how many clothes she buys me.

If you’re a parent, what would you love? She’s not really a spa-going person, doesn’t have the confidence to go to a new class.. (she loves books, hence the bookmark).. Any ideas would be so much appreciated.
~Rose

One comment

  1. I love this blog post 🙂 You totally made me smile! Good job Mme. Rose.

Leave a Reply

