October Inventory

Y2Week0I went ‘home’ for the weekend. This means I visited my husband in his university house 70 miles away. After weeks without more than emails and texts, it was bliss; but returning to the text/email predicament Sunday night hurt a lot. I don’t like posting sad/negative things on here; but if you have any spare energy, I’d love a donation.

I love it here, I’m strong, I’m experiencing; facing fears and pushing boundries and I survive it happily. But damnit, I love him and five weeks without his voice nor his touch and two weeks with only photographs to look at really stretched me. Don’t get me started on the state of public transport at the moment.

 Okay, normal scheduling shall now resume.

 Picture: Okay teams, Ready, Steady, COOK!”

After my £11 shop yesterday [wait a minute.. that was today.. oh dear; losing my mind], I started thinking about meal plans. Most include rice/pasta/potatoes with vegetables, so I thought I’d take a full inventory of my current food situation.

October Inventory:

FREEZER

  • Breaded chicken
  • Yorkshire Puddings
  • Turkey Dinosaurs
  • Happy Stars
  • Brocolli
  • Spinach
  • Baby sweetcorn
  • Crumpets

CUPBOARDS

  • Fruit juice
  • Pasta
  • Tagliatelle
  • Rice
  • Soup
  • Tuna
  • Cup-a-soup
  • Variety of teas
  • Apples
  • Pasta ‘n’ Sauce packets
  • Noodles
  • Crisps
  • Can of potatoes [don’t ask]
  • Tin of blackberries
  • Tuna Bake Sauce
  • Sweetcorn tins
  • Baked Beans with sausages
  • Spaghetti hoops
  • Oats
  • Nutella
  • Chicken Oxo Cubes
  • Plain Flour
  • Dark Brown Sugar
  • Decicamated Pokanut (Decimated Coconut :P)
  • Cranberry Juice

FRIDGE

  • Bread
  • Milk
  • Green beans
  • Actimel
  • Grapes
  • Carrots
  • Cucumber
  • Crumpets
  • Cheese
  • Ham
  • Butter
  • Yoghurt (organic vanilla & 2 little chocolate ones)

BEDROOM

  • Soreen
  • Biscuits (Hobnobs, oatcakes, coconut biscuits)
  • Cereal Bars
  • Chocolate – Dark & Milky Way
  • Glacé Cherries
  • Pringles
  • Half a batternberg cake (in airtight container)
  • Golden Syrup Steamed Pudding
  • Crumble mix (for apple crumble)

So that’s my entire inventory of food (from memory). I also have herbs and spices and the rice is a mix of normal & boil in the bag.  I like to think I’ve a good mix of healthy and yummy foods. I don’t intend to buy any more junk food and I’m hoping to experiment with simple & healthy meals.

This list looked really good.. and then I went downstairs to make a cup of nettle tea and some buttered toast; and added some things I’d forgotten… Now I just look like a pig =P

On the plus side, last year I was consuming around 15 packs of super noodles/pasta’n’sauces a week whereas I have 10 packs of noodles and 4 pasta packets to last the term (I’ve been here three weeks and have only used one pasta and 2 noodles.

 

What do you cook when you’re in need of nourishment? What staple food could you not live without? What’re your favourite winter warmers?

P.S. a friend just showed me this: http://www.cookingbynumbers.com/frames.html   I ticked about 20 of the boxes and the second option was:

100% of 1 ingredients in Apple on its own.
Only got an apple? Fridge barer than a new born grizzly? Try this recipe for success.

Which made me laugh. =)

5 comments

  1. haha are you really going to put happy stars in the freezer!! 😉

    ah i know what you mean with not seeing your hubby for ages..it feels wierd being back here, having all this responsibility and not having someone to come home to, but i really think it makes you a stronger person, and your relationship stronger too, as although its nice to have the passionate cant live without each other relationsips, they really dont last that long, so having your completely seperate lives and still being strong together is a real achievement!!

    ps i think we should have a random girly baking session and sell some of it for the society (eat the majority hehe) and use some of your desicamated pokanut!!!!)…has such a ring to it!!
    xyx

    1. They’re already there 😛 I’ve even eaten some.
      Good plan ^_^
      Thanks for commenting,
      ~Rose.

  2. I’m veggie now, but when I wasn’t, a really good food I would eat as a lunch was rice and and lightly fried tuna. Really simple! A can of tuna’ll do two servings easily 🙂

    1. Sounds awesome – Do you just put the tuna in frying pan with some oil or soemthing?
      ~Rose.

      1. Yeah, it’s that simple. Sorry for the late reply :o)

Leave a Reply

