3 Beltaines

Even with all my knowledge and my experiences, I learnt a great deal about the Pagan community this weekend. It may be partly because this is a specific festival of celebration, but I expected the rituals to be a lot more formal than they were.

Because they weren’t, I felt more comfortable being there.

Saturday I attended a Wiccan ritual in a High Priestesses garden and Sunday I was invited to the Anderida Gorsedd Druid Open Circle. The weather was wonderful for both rituals and the Long Man was fantastic. I can’t believe I met Dahm the Bard and even got a hug from him. After hearing Sue, the Purple Pixie, talk about him so much over the past 2 years, I was ecstatic and really had to concentrate on not jumping around like a child. His energies were fantastic. Then again, that’s true of most of the people I met. They truly are amazing people. The women had battled so much and to feel so connected with them was fantastic.

Being able to reaffirm my Beltaine wishes on Saturday by jumping over the Beltaine fire and again Sunday with the Promise circle, it really has been a fantastic opportunity.  It would have been nice to see some of things the other Wiccan circle members did, but perhaps it would have been an information overload.

I’ve made a commitment to myself to be more active in the pagan community and to be open to any public worship I’m invited to. Having done my own solitary ritual on Friday the first of May, I’m ready for a rest from ritual for a couple of days.

I seem to have also made a friend I can see myself learning a lot from. Marie attends the same University as me, and was taught the Old Ways by her great-grandmother; a wonderful wise woman. When I’m around her, I feel like I’m more aware of myself, and when she’s around me, she claims to feel more like her great-grandmother. Knowing.

I met her at the Wiccan Circle and she came with me to the Druid circle.  I’m looking forward to getting to know her better and as I said in the circle, to never stop learning.

Moon Bless.
~Rose.

Leave a Reply

