Taoism vs. Zen Buddhism

 

 

I’ve just finished “The Tao Of Pooh”, and so I’m allowing myself to read “Buddhism – plain and simple”. Once I’ve finished that, I think I’ll go back and read the Tao of Pooh again. It makes some very valid points. Some are things I’ve always known, but never really worked out how to do – like I know how to be patient but when it comes to putting that into practise, I’m impatient. I’ve just had the thought of doing a book review of the Tao of Pooh, but I think if I learned anything from it; it’s that to analyse the contents, to describe it through words, is the exact opposite of what its teaching.

 

I find myself almost believing in two contradicting concepts.

I believe knowledge should be sought and found; to be utilised and recorded. I believe that forewarned is forearmed.

Secondly, I believe we try too hard; and to seek knowledge is to never find an end – no matter how good the drinking; it always ends in thirst.

 

I’ve tried the “let’s try and be all knowing”; and it hasn’t worked well. So now I think I’m giving the second option a try. (Wish me luck).

Patterns take years to change so, might take a while. J

 

 

 

 

 


I’ve been meaning to write a post this week; but just haven’t had much to say. Yesterday I actually walked to town, and got a bus to my partner’s town. I’ve never been on a bus on my own before. It’s the first time I’ve used public transport without having someone else buy my ticket (i.e. do the talking). I spent the twenty minute ride really looking at the surroundings. Watching the bus driver on the other side of the road wave to the driver of the bus I was on, watching the cars give us a wide berth and just… noticing life.

I like being the observer, but I often look too deep. This was a nice surface glance at people, form the top floor of a double decker bus. I usually analyse everything, but I could actually watch without making too many comments or judgements. I read recently that our inner story-teller, the ego, often creates perceptions; and meditation is the chance for the mind to think without having to see how that thought will “fit in” to the story.

I think I read that at Rebel Zen (see my side bar on the right). But I found some truth in it on this journey. I went with my partner and two of his friends to see the movie Kung Fu Panda. It contained some Zen-like comments and phrases that made me think I could watch it just as I could watch The Last Samurai – for its spiritual content.

 

I’ve made it my current problem to make it clear in mind of the differences between Zen, Buddhism and Taoism. It’s one thing to be told dictionary definitions, another to really experience how each one affects and views life.

 

I hope everyone else is doing well, and I hope you’ll take some time this week to just spend 5 minutes watching the world without making comments to yourself. Just to observe.  You can perhaps take one minute a day, to make up your weekly five minutes; if five minutes is too much time to handle.

 

Stars Above,

~Celestial Rose~

3 comments

  1. From my experience, Zen is Taoism influenced by Buddhism.

    “A special transmission outside the scriptures;
    No dependence upon words and letters;
    Direct pointing to the soul of man:
    Seeing into one’s own nature and attainment of Buddhahood”

    As you may have seen, many schools of Buddhism focus on meditation and the precepts. Zen tries to convey that “True Enlightenment, as experienced by the Buddha and transmitted through the patriarchs, is independent of verbal explanations, including the record of the Buddha’s teachings (i.e., scriptures) and later doctrinal elaborations.”

    Of course, Zen does offer teachings (dharma talks) that seek to point the way; much as Taoism does. Albeit via informal and sometimes in a very forceful way. All the while with the goal in mind being that we need to WAKE UP!!!

  2. I think the key is just to let go and keep the idea of dynamic balance in mind. Sometimes you are a seeker, sometimes you are a know-er. Just relax and go with the process of being human, always being mindful to return to the middle path sometimes and know that its okay to not seek and not know.

    You are already enlightened! Just remember that.

  3. I loved this post! I could relate to so many things here…I don’t post as much as I want either…

    The Tao of Pooh was truly one of my favorite books in my early 20s. There is so much truth in simplicity and that is what attracted me.

    The Last Samurai is also one of my very favorite movies because of the integrity and spirituality of the warriors! To live for truth…wow…

    So honestly, I felt really connected to you today.
    Hope reading goes well for you. I should post something inspiring again some day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

